top of page
Search
  • lotenwriting

Review of 'Castle On The Mead' - K T Dady



Welcome to Pepper Bay, where you’ll find love, drama, and a happily ever after.

Snuggle down with this cosy, feel-good, comfort read that whisks you away to a beautiful bay on the Isle of Wight – Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Alison Sherlock, Rachael Lucas, and Holly Martin.

The Pepper Bay books are standalone stories that intertwine with recurring characters. Best enjoyed when read in order.

Castle on the Mead: Harrison Connell leads a quiet life, but Ashley Hadley is determined to get him to come out of his shell. When she gets the chance to move into his castle, she sets about putting the old building back on the map. Harrison doesn’t want his home to become a tourist attraction, but that’s the least of his worries, as someone seems determined to destroy him, or maybe it’s Ashley they want to hurt.


Purchase Links




This latest instalment of K T Dady's bestselling Pepper Bay series doesn't disappoint. Once again we are based firmly within the bosom of the Hadley Family and this time the focus is on Ashley; feisty but fragile in her own way. When trouble comes to the residents of Pepper Bay, it never comes in small packages and there is enough trauma to fill several books packed into this one. Harrison, Ashley's love interest, comes with his own tragic backstory and although at times it might appear as though phobias and PTSD are treated lightly (and given that this is a romcom I wouldn't expect them to be delved into too deeply) there is nevertheless the feeling that the author genuinely understands both issues and is writing with a light touch because she is mindful of her audience, rather than because of a desire to be frivolous. There is an underlying seriousness to these issues which, although it isn't allowed to encroach on the story more than it needs to for plot purposes, is nonetheless there and acknowledged. I would personally have liked more background on the motivation of the main villain, but again I recognise that is very much a personal preference that doesn't necessarily have a place in a book of this genre. My recent reading has been quite heavy on the psychology at times and I think it's taking me a while to shift back into light reading mode.


However, I think that's why I love this series so much. The books never fail to make me smile and I would encourage people to follow the author on social media because, like her books, her posts are overwhelmingly positive and always brighten my day.


I am absolutely not the target audience for romcom books and I always say that they have to have something really special for me to pick them up. When I opted to review the first in this series I thought the premise was interesting but I certainly hadn't expected to still be reading the series eight books later, let alone avidly looking for when the next one was being released so I could request it for review. Even in months where I've been trying to cut down on the amount of reviews I've taken on I haven't been able to resist signing up for the Pepper Bay tours and already I'm eyeing up my emails to make sure I don't miss the announcing of the next one.


In an uncertain world where people are rarely as nice as they seem, there is a refreshing comfort to be found in delving into a world where people are, on the whole, genuinely nice folk who understand what makes a community. I think this, more than anything else, is what keeps me coming back to Pepper Bay.


Author Bio: Hello, I'm K.T. Dady. I'm the bestselling author of the Pepper Bay series. I'm also a chocolate lover, mum to a grown-up daughter, and a huge fan of a HEA. I was born and raised in the East End of London, and I've been happily writing stories since I was a little girl. When I'm not writing, I'm reading, baking cakes, or pottering around in my little garden in Essex, trying not to kill the flowers.


Social Media Links –




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page